Bassplaying ruins listening music in general!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Niels Keijzer, Jan 18, 2001.

1. Niels Keijzer

Niels Keijzer Guest

Nov 27, 2000
    Before I started playing, I can remember that I enjoyed listening to music in a different way then I do now.

To me it seems, playing bass makes it impossible to me to listen to recordings as a whole...when I'm listening to music, I'm always picking out basslines while listening, or concentrating on drums, or this, or that.
    It's terribly hard for me to listen to the complete picture.

I can conclude that my best listening experiences, and the best songs or bands that I've ever heard, were in the period were I wasn't playing bass yet.
    I wonder if this was coincidential.

Any thoughts from you guys on this?
  2. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    My listening "ability" increased exponentially when I began my quest as a musician. My attempt at being a musician made me a searcher(I believe).
    MAYBE...MAYBE, very early on, I concentrated on what the bassist was up to & judged a tune's merit on how "cool" a part was being laid down.
    FWIW, learning a rhythm section instrument really increased my awareness of what was happening from the ground floor on up.
    Granted, there's times I'm critical...if I hear something I think is BS, I'll say it, though, I usually attempt to find something good in "most" things. ;)

...not sure how long you've been at this-
    Maybe you should think about yourself as a MUSICIAN who happens to play the bass(?).
  3. I went through the same thing as well. When I first got into music, it was for the pure joy of the music in general. I didn't understand rythms, modes, key changes, syncopations ect. I just knew it made me feel good.