1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Battle of the combos, help me!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassist 4 life, Mar 16, 2008.

1. Hey, im thinking about getting a new amp. All of my choices are in the 200-300 range. I play a 5-string active Ibanez ATK, so with that in mind, i'd like some help with choosing the best one.
    Now im a noob when it comes to amps, all i have is my crappy behringer 30 watt and i prefer my old starter pack 10 watt with just bass and treble controls over it.

I'm looking at the:

Line 6 Lowdown 110 - 75 watts 1x10 25lbs

Fender Bassman 100 - 100 watts 1x10 25 lbs

Gallien Krueger Backline 112 - 100 watts 1x12 37lbs

im trying to keep things under 40 pounds, weight is important for me. i dont really want anything expensive, 200-300 range will do. I want something thats 70 watts and up. So if you have any more suggestions, shoot me.

2. Rob Mancini

Rob Mancini Guest

Feb 26, 2008
    I'd get the Backline simply because I don't think a single 10" can get the job done, whereas a 12" can. Maybe if Fender or Line 6 makes a 12" combo you should take a look at them as well.

3. Bighead Kid

Bighead Kid

Jun 2, 2007
    Get the backline, but I'd look for some other other options.

4. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    I've used the 112 Backline for bar gigs. Full and fat sound with my P-Bass and TI Jazz Flats. I had it turned up approximately 75% of the way. It's an organ trio (Organ, Bass, Drums). It's a decent amp. I wish it had handles on the side, but it's not a big deal.

Joe

5. Kennethfaria

Kennethfaria Banned

Mar 12, 2008
    Hey, i see you're located in Bahrain.
    Weird, i was Born there back in '91. Then moved to Canada.

In terms of how loud each would be, they would all more or less be as powerful.