Battle of the pre-amp: SVP-pro vs. RBI

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Schwinn, Jan 15, 2003.

1. Ampeg SVP-Pro

46 vote(s)
  2. SansAmp RBI

51 vote(s)
  3. something else entirely

12 vote(s)
  1. Schwinn

Dec 4, 2002
    Sarasota, FL
    I'm looking to spend around $300 on a pre-amp and I've narrowed it down to two contenders:

Ampeg SVP-Pro and the SansAmp RBI

In one corner, Allan Grossman chooses the Ampeg. Yes, how can I go wrong with Ampeg and it's classic tone?

In the other, Bonafide endorses the Sansamp. Maybe more tone versatility here?

I like the Ampeg sound but I want a "complete package" preamp so I can play everything from slow ballads to corpse-grinding metal. I'm definitely an all-around rock bassist.

I've never done a poll before, so I couldn't resist.
  2. i own both, and I can't decide which one is better, the svp is a little noisy, so i use the RBI most of the time since its more quiet. But ill use the svp on live gigs and the RBI as a backup.
  3. I played an RBI last week at a country jam and I was impressed....Sounded good.
  4. atldeadhead

Jun 17, 2002
    Which ever you decide on, I'd recommend getting it from some place where you can return it before 30 days are up. In this way you can try them both out in the comfort of your own home and on gigs and thus make an informed decision on which to keep permanently.

This is such a subjective decision, which sounds better, that I don't know that I'd leave it up to what a bunch of other people prefer. It's nice to have some opinions, but yours is the only one that counts in the end. :)
  5. Gee - I don't even have to vote :)

I've played both and prefer the Ampeg - but then I own one. The RBI is no slouch, though.
  6. Schwinn

Dec 4, 2002
    Sarasota, FL