BBE B-max review!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by caesarbass, Apr 23, 2005.

1. Let me start by saying that I think that demo'ing a piece of gear in the worst of conditions is probably the best way to see how it really works. I started a Disneyland run about three weekends ago, I'm playing at the Tomorrowland terrace, the stage that comes out of the ground. I've been playing there on and off for about 9 years with many different bands. Unfortunately they have the WORST back line gear, an old hartke 4X10 and an old GK 41X10 cab, to power these cabs they have an SM-900, which I blew up about a year ago and it's never been fixed, and an old GK 800RB that has never worked right, and an SVT that acually really sounds great despite the horrible cabs they have. Jens, I believe that's how he spells his name, the BBE rep, was nice enough to loan me a BMAX to demo. I'm running the BMAX into the power amp in of the SVT head. I'm running the EQ at the "flat" setting, 2-10-2, and I'm not using the comp, sonic max, or the para mids. I'm using my Sadowsky MV5 metro right into the front end of the pre. I really like the way this pre sounds. It is very quick, and by that I mean, it doesn't seem compressed at all, whatever you play comes out without hesitation. I've had some experience with other pre's that don't react as quickly and seem a bit sluggish when it comes to responding to the notes being played. I did encounter a problem with the sonic maximizer, it was very very noisy whenever I turned it on. This is a demo unit and has probably seen better days, so I'm sure BBE will fix this as soon as they know this is faulty. The gain control is very sensitive, I only have it turned up to about 9 o'clock and it is giving me plenty of gain. I think BBE has done a great job with this piece of gear. The FOH guys seem to like it also, plenty of positive comments from them. I will post the rest of my review tomorrow, Sunday, when this weekend run is over, I'll get the exac