1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

BBE B-max straight to mixer for home studio?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Airfish, Jan 21, 2013.

1. Hi.
    I have a small home studio and I´m looking for a bass preamp to my 19-inch rack. My main theoretical candidate is the solid state version of the BBE B-max. But I have no experience with such equipment and I need to know: Can you connect it straight to the mixer? Would that sound good, with the signal path consisting of just of the preamp, mixer and monitor speakers? Does the BBE B-max have some sort of speaker emulation on the output? Or if not the BBE B-max, is there any other 19-inch rack preamp with speaker emulation for a comparable price?
    Thanx in advance for your tips.

2. Arjank

Arjank

Oct 9, 2007
    Above Amsterdam
    Yes, you can connect the bmax to a mixer through it's DI or unbalanced out. I have the bmaxT and I connected it to my focusrite saffire for my homestudio, very nice sound. I don't need any speaker emulator with this pre-amp, the tone shaping capabilities of this pre-amp are enough to get the tones I want be it reggea sub lows or snappy bright funk sizzle :bassist:

3. That means the solid state BMAX could also sound good, even without speaker emulation? I have a pair of KRK VXT6 active monitors plus a 12-inch active KRK sub and a decent mixer. Really no need for other equipment?

4. Arjank

Arjank

Oct 9, 2007
    Above Amsterdam
    IMO it's not needed and would work great with your equipment. Are you after a specific sound?
    I used my bmaxT with several recordings and works great, never needed any emulation plug-ins for the recording software.

5. GMSweet

GMSweet

Oct 12, 2007
    New Hampshire