1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

BBE BMAX... What Can I Expect?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by IbanezATK, Apr 7, 2009.

1. IbanezATK

IbanezATK

Feb 24, 2009
    Monroe, LA, USA
    I just bought a BBE BMAX on Ebay to replace my Bass Pod. I love the idea of the Sonic Maximizer and Compressor built into the preamp, and they seem to get good reviews.

I love some of the sounds I can get out of the Bass Pod, but I'm an old man and "programming" the Pod is just too much work for me. It took me an hour to make the Pod an SVT head and 8x10 cabinet, and I'm still not sure I've got it right. Sadly, I'm a network admin and you'd think I'd be able to "program" the Bass Pod!

I'm gong to be running it into a Carvin DCM 1000 into an Avatar Neo 4x10 (and another Avatar Neo 4x10 or 2x12 down the road for bigger venues, in Orange Tolex of course!) In the effects loop will be a EH Bass Big Muff Pi, EH Clone Theory, and a Boss pedal so I can blend in some "clean" to the distorted signal so I can keep it fat. I have to basically cover the rythym guitar ground and the bass territory as well.

I'm after a Muse like bass sound. Am I going to be happy with this setup? Or did I just make a "I just drank 4 24 ounce Miller Lite beers in an hour" mistake?

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2007
    Toronto Ontario Canada