Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BC Rich basses - look good, but are they really?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Miritalner, Oct 19, 2005.

1. Miritalner

Miritalner

Oct 16, 2005
    I've seen them everywhere. Damn sharp-looking things. Make me feel like I want one. But I've heard a lot of people say that apart from the look you don't get much. Others insist that Beast and Warlock are the best heavy-metal tools of war we could ever hear of; plus, famous bands like Slipknot use them too... From all that I've gathered that it would be a good idea to get a used Rich bass for the sake of the design and fill it up with some decent electronics... But what do you think? I'm not experienced in basses at all, so I'm sort of looking for an advise.

2. I'm not an owner, but I played an aquaintance's Warlock once. What I took out of that experience was some pretty bad neck dive, and the body felt way too small to me to be comfortable. I didn't like the overall feel of it.

This are all fairly subjective things, but I didn't really like it.

3. I have an NJ Beast, and honestly I haven't touched it in 2 months. Coincidentally that's also when I got my new Schecter Stiletto Elite. :D Seriously, when you compare the playability, the Schecter wins hands-down. The tone of the Beast was good, and I did like it for the metal band I was in. I think my Schecter has a better range of tones, more suited for a variety of musical styles like I play now. IMHO, the beast is too heavy and too pointy for anything but metal/thrash/etc. If you're still interested in a BC Rich, I could probably be persuaded to sell my Beast for a decent price, and aside from a couple nicks in the paint, it's as good as new.

4. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA