1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

bc rich mockingbird bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TheGreatSealof, Oct 26, 2017.

1. I just purchased a used BC Rich American mockingbird bass, signed on the backside of the headstock. Good price but pretty well beat up. Pictures later. Controls are my concern. I have no knowledge or experience with this bass manufacturer. Not sure of what controls are designed to do. I have played around tonight trying to familiarize. I think one or more pot is having issues. What I have noticed is when playing E A strings, sound booms. But when playing D G stings, the sound is very thin. I have tried all combination of control settings. Something seems off to me. I have searched for wiring diagrams for this particular bass model but all I get for results is Mockingbird guitar wiring diagrams. No bass. I would appreciate any advice regarding where I might find a wiring diagram specific to this bass.

2. 1979_BCRichCircuit.jpg

3. Snakeman1066

Snakeman1066 Supporting Member

Sep 17, 2007
    Central Valley
    It would be germane to the question if we could see said bass...over the years there have been many configurations of B.C. Rich Mockingbirds...

not seeing the bass in question...my first guess is that your pick up height needs to be adjusted and possibly a new set of strings

9c1ny likes this.
  4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Masks, people, masks!
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    Ask johnk_10. He designed it.

5. NoiseNinja

NoiseNinja Experimental-psychedelic-ambient-noise-drone Inactive

Feb 23, 2011
    Denmark
    Can't help you, but congratulations, and hope you solve your problems...

Just love the looks of these basses:
    big%20bc%20rich%20mockingbird%20bassDSCN0454.jpg