Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BEAD Tuning on a MIM 4 stringer?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by megiddo, Jun 8, 2005.

1. megiddo

megiddo

Apr 5, 2003
    Houston, Texas
    I've done a search on BEAD tuning and seen all the reasons to do it and not to do it. I REALLY want to get a 5er but that's out of the question for the foreseeable future, sooo..... since I want to go low I'm debating converting my MIM Fender Jazz to BEAD.

I play Praise and Worship music that leans toward Alternative Rock. My jazz has Bart j4 pups, the electronics have been upgraded with new pots that are wired for series / parallel, and it's strung with Rotosound SwingBass 66 strings. In church I use a Peavey Basic 112, for Praise and Worship gigs I use my Ampeg SVT 3pro with an SVT 1540 cab. I've been playing for a couple of years and have finally found a sound that I like, BUT I would like to have the option of the B string. I very rarely (if ever) use the G string. If I did go BEAD I'd get a 5 string set and just not use the G.

So, it's time to ask the experts! With those considerations what would you do? Would I be able to get a good quality B out of my setup or should I just hold out for a 5er sometime in the next 10 years? Ha! Will Barts made for a 4 string set up be able to give me a beefy B.

(Beefy B - sounds like a rap artist's name. Ha!) :D

Thanks for your help.

2. eldave777

eldave777

May 24, 2005
    If you get the Music man a lot of guys I sell to that tune them BEAD have me order a 5 string B bridge saddle. They will use a set of 5 string bass strings and leave out the .45 string. It seems to work well. Have it set up at the store if you do this.

3. megiddo

megiddo

Apr 5, 2003
    Houston, Texas