Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beating out competition!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by barbarian, Oct 3, 2002.

1. barbarian

barbarian

Sep 15, 2002
    Dublin, Ireland
    Gents. I'm in a slight bit of bother. I've been playing the bass for 2 and 1/2 years now, but a friend of mine has taken up the bass roughly a year ago. The difference between us is that I got few lessons, and he's been getting them steadilly for the past year. He also got an ESP - 204, which I feel is unnecessary for someone with his skill. I'm getting a 5-string in about 6 months or less, but I'm worried. What can I do to show that I'm better than him? Every time I'm at his house and we're messing around, I'm too damned nervous to play my ****ty portfolio of tunes. He does some crappy slap tune that no-one ever hears... How should I go about improving my technique? I hope to get lessons soon.... But do you guys know of any impressive tabs an.. intermediate bass player could use?

Thanks.

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    You may not want to hear this, but everything about this is wrong to me. 1st, music is NOT a competition. If you're motivated to become better than everyone else (or anyone else for that matter) you'll inevitably be disappointed. Set your goals to be the best you can be, no more than that.

His equipment is of little concern here, as well. Play your axe. If you play it well, it will show.

The other consideration is, since he's been taking lessons steadily (always the best course), and you've taken a few sporadically, maybe he is better than you, or at least more advanced.