Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Becoming A Luthier

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Shelly Renzelman, Oct 14, 2005.

1. If a person were interested in becoming a luthier, where would you get the training? Is there a school that focuses on Double Bass along with violins/cellos? Do you find someone to apprentice with?

The reason I ask is this: the part of the country I live in (North-Central Idaho) is about 100 miles from nowhere. We are the largest population center in the country located over 100 miles from the nearest freeway. The closest luthier is about 200 miles away. There is a real need in this area. I have a pretty firm background in woodworking (I'm a certified shop teacher) and have been playing music for 30 years and think it may be time to combine the 2. But I would like to have some formal training and not just "dive in".

Thanks for the advice!

Shelly

2. A quick Google revealed a The American School of Violin-aking in SLC, your general neck 'o the woods.

If I'm not mistaken, our own Sam Sherry has a sister who went there.

www.prierviolins.com

3. Eric Rene Roy

Eric Rene Roy Supporting Member

Mar 19, 2002
    Mystic, CT
    President: Upton Bass String Instrument Co.
  4. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA