1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Been stuck in a musical Rut for the past year...?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassman750-2009, Nov 20, 2010.

1. bassman750-2009

bassman750-2009

Jul 27, 2009
    Hey everyone my name is Matt. I have been playing the bass for about 8 years now, and have been teaching myself theory and basic composition techniques. but there is a huge problem. I haven't really been improving at all for the past year... maybe it has something to do with the fact that I'm in college and dont have as much time to play? but, I feel as though I'm at the point where I either would have to A) practice solo for around 2 hours a day or more or B) practice everyday with a band; both of which, I don't have time to do, since I'm a Physics major in college. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. :D

2. Your bass can be a good way to unwind and relax from "the books", but, the books are your number one priority right now. You will have the rest of your life to play bass.

3. bassman750-2009

bassman750-2009

Jul 27, 2009

haha thanks man I appreciate it :D

4. Basshoofd

Basshoofd

Jan 14, 2009
    Netherlands
    Try to get inspired by something, maybe some different music. For example, check out gospel bass players like Sharay Reed and see if they have anything that interests you.

5. My problem described word for word ;)

I've pretty much eliminated everything apart from (practising and studying) music and academics from my life. It's helping a fair deal.

6. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Commercial User

Sep 9, 2007
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Manager of Brand Identity & Development, GHS Strings, Innovation Double Bass Strings, Rocktron