Before picking up the bass...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by FaultLine423, Oct 23, 2000.

1. FaultLine423

Aug 27, 2000
    ...what instrument did you play(unless your first instrument WAS bass), or still do? I started playing violin when I was 5, and stopped around age 10, so none of the violin stuff could be carried over, but at age 10 I started playing trombone, so I could read bass clef really well, which helped quite a bit when I started taking bass lessons at age 13. Plus, if you think about it, there's a connection between legato trombone tone, and legato bass tone, so that was something else that was carried over. How about you all?
  2. Deynn

Deynn Moderator Emeritus

Aug 9, 2000
    I played trumpet and have found out, that many other bass players did as well.
  3. I started on piano at 5 so there I learned both bass & treble clef.. then at 11 I got bored of piano and started playing classical guitar (still do) and 1 year later I also started playing bass.... well.. before that I had obviously often played my brother´s bass for fun :)

btw... i think this has been covered here before... :)
  4. furtim

Dec 12, 1999
    Boston, MA, USA
    I played piano at 5, like most of you. But I quit at 6. =)

I blame a combination of being too bloody young to appreciate it and having a bad teacher.
  5. I started on piano at about 6 or 7, when I wished I could be like my brother and play piano. Then I started losing interest, and my mom still forced me to play, until eventually she gave up when I was about 13. Then at 14 I started with guitar, and then moved to bass at 16 because a coupla friends needed a bassist for their band. :D
  6. I used to play Violin, then Piano, then bass and Harmonica and ukulele and guitar. But nowadays i mostly play bass.. never put it down since i first picked it up. :) Harmonica and ukulele and guitar is only rare now.
  7. Acacia

Apr 26, 2000
    Austin, TX
    16 years of drums. (never to be played again)