Beginer bassist should i upgrade my bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fuzzybuzzy, Dec 6, 2004.

1. fuzzybuzzy

Dec 4, 2004
    I have a Peavey Milestone II and a crate pt15.I have been playing for about 2 months and a half. For this thread please list what i should get for it how much it is and were to get it. Thank you.
  2. You can't really recomend something like this my friend. As we could recomend something that was easy for us to play but you might find difficult to play.

My suggestion, go into your bass shop and sit in the bass section for an hour or two and try as many basses as possibly and by the one your comfortable with. I often find learning a hard riff before hand and trying that one riff at least once on each bass is a good idea, and think about going for the one you played the riff the best on.

If all else fails and u still need help from us, a price range would help methinks.
  3. Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    Right - if you could be a bit more specific in terms of what you might be looking for, styles of music you play, how much money you might be wanting to spend, etc. That would help.
  4. fuzzybuzzy

Dec 4, 2004
    Well I'm only eleven, so I really don't have much money. I'd be willing to spend up to $200, and I play rhcp, the strokes, and my own stuff. Also, if you have any suggestions of good bassists to check out, please tell me, as I just started playing.

Thanks! :bassist:
  5. SteveC

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    I would suggest you spend some more time learning to play before you worry about gear.

Are you taking lessons? Your money will be better spent there for the next year or so.

If it's set up properly, there's nothing wrong with that Peavey you have. I've had a number of students use that bass for a year or more before stepping up to a better bass.