Beginner Bass Player, NEED ADVICE

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by PudRocker182, Nov 22, 2002.

1. I'm 15 yrs old, and im new to this site. I just started playing bass recently. All I do is look up tabs to play. What should i do to get better?
    Should I take lessons or learn by myself?
    Your help is very appreciated
  2. RoyQBiv

Nov 8, 2002
    Bellingam, WA
    A lot of people here will recommend taking lessons. It's probably not a bad idea, if you have the money. My recommendation would be at learn all of the basic scales and a bit of music theory, and then just practice until your fingers bleed. Well, maybe not quite that much. Playing off of tabs is fun when you're new to bass, and there's nothing wrong with that, but I can tell you from experience it doesn't do much to improve you as a bassist.
  3. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Moved to General Instruction

And get a teacher :)
  4. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

"Looking up tabs to play"...been there done that.

Tabs are a quick and easy way to start playing basslines to some of your favorite songs. I know. I did it. Trouble is they teach you little or nothing. You play the stated fret and string by number. You do not know the name of the notes you play. You don't know WHY you played them. You can't tell what rhythm or timing to play without listening to the song over and over. And you are basically sunk if there is no tab to the song you want.

The "hybrid tabs" are better because they "glue' both standard notation and tabs together. If you have doubts you can look at the standard notation IF you know how.