Beginner bass..

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MattTracker, Mar 6, 2004.

1. MattTracker

Mar 6, 2004
    hey, I'm trying to find a good bass for starting out (to be used in the studio over lounge type tracks)

My local shop carries a few Ibanez soundgear models, but how do they compare to the other basses in this price range?

-looking to spend around $200-$250.

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Ibanez sound gears.... Eh. There are diamonds, and there are dirt clods, a know? Very inconsistent quality.

tons of people will tell you to go there and have a look. I have no experience with them, but people say they are better than anything else in the price range...

And for $250, you could probably find a used MIM fender...
  3. Get a Squier MB-4 for 180 bucks. Or the MB-5 5 string for 200. The 4 would leave you with money to buy a practice amp to. The MB-4 has P/J's, great tone for a beginner, and I've had mine over 6 months and have no problems at all with it. Volume, P-up pan, and Tone control. Plus, the Pewter Grey Metallic finish is really nice. Or you could always go used.
  4. Most people on here will scream "ESSEX or SX" at you, apparently they can't be beaten for the price (about $150 or so). Then that leaves you will plenty of cash to buy a nice amp, an amp is just as important as the bass, I guess if you don't mind going used you could pick up a nice amp for $150 or so, but I don't live in the US so I don't know exactly what you can get for your money.
  5. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    I've only seen on SX bass in person, it need a serious neck adjustment and my have been fine beyond that.