1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

beginner bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by zaveta, Jan 10, 2002.

1. zaveta

zaveta Guest

Jan 10, 2002
    montana
    I am just getting started and want to spend between 500-800 dollars on my bass. I have looked at the ibanez and they seem to have fairly good quality in this price range. Any suggestions would be a big help. thanksyou can email responese to zaveta@hotmail.com if you have the time.

2. Wow - you can do a lot better than Ibanez. Not that Ibanez is bad ... but for $800 ...

But you should check out Ebay and the like. In my opinion the smart musical instrument buyer buys used! There are so many used instruments out there in perfect condition and at very good prices. Go to your biggest most favorite music store, pick out the one you want and then look for something similar used. There are tons of people spending tons of money on instruments that never get played and then are re-sold.

Im sure there will be plenty others willing to tell you there favorites.

Good Luck, and as always, let us know what you get when you get it.

Peace - K.

3. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk Supporting Member

Apr 14, 2001
    Pennsylvania
    Consider looking at a used bass. You'll have a better shot at getting a quality bass. I personally avoid e-bay. I like to hold the bass in my own hands before spendin anything. I also like to knwo where to find the guy who sold it to me.

Good luck.

4. Hello Zaveta and a warm welcome to Talk Bass.

Wow, 500 - 800 for a first bass.....

My first bass (since I got back into music) cost me £75: a Squier P. It was great for what it was, with an absolutely superb action. My one and only bass, now, is a Bass Collection 4 string that cost me £250, used.