1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nephew87, Feb 25, 2008.

1. nephew87

nephew87

Feb 16, 2008
    I just started playing bass about a month ago with a Squier by Fender Precission Bass that I rented at a music shop.

Well now its time to get my own. Out of this two which one do you think is the better bass to start with.

Ibanez GSR 200 4-String Bass $199.99

IbanexGSR200.

or

Epiphone EB-0 $199.99

EpiphoneEB-0.

or any other around that price range.

2. plexibass

plexibass

Jun 30, 2005
    i'd go with the epi, but then again i am a fan of shortscale.

3. p0k

p0k I play the bass and design things. Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2007
    Brockton, MA
    i started out on that exact same ibanez. it was great for a beginner bass.

4. play them both and buy the one that feels best

5. s34s0ns

s34s0ns

Feb 14, 2008
    san jose, ca.
    i too started out with that ibanez, it is decent and in my opinion, one of the more comfortable all around basses.

6. +1
    hey you do have more choices in that price range too

7. I think the main difference would be the 30" (Epiphone) vs the 34" (Ibanez) neck. The Squier was a 34". If you're comfortable with that size, you might want to go with the Ibanez.
    BTW- I own an Epiphone EBO. It's a cool little bass.

8. 0175westwood29

0175westwood29

Sep 16, 2007
    +1 this is the best advice play both if one sticks out more then get that? if you get something you love! it makes you play more!

9. p0k

p0k I play the bass and design things. Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2007
    Brockton, MA
    you could probably get a nice used bass in that range too...a peavey perhaps?

10. xaosbass

xaosbass

Feb 15, 2008