1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner feeling overwhelmed

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ual, Sep 30, 2010.

1. ual

ual

Aug 12, 2010
    Perth
    Hi all. I've been playing bass for a couple of years (casually) and recently have been trying to learn to read music and bass theory etc, but I'm feeling overwhelmed by the sheer amount of stuff to learn and I don't know where to start.

I've tried reading up on it online but it doesn't sink in and I started taking lessons with a guy who isn't really that great a teacher (so I'm looking for a new one). My problem is I can't just sit down and read about it, I need to have it set out like a course with someone to guide me, as if I'm in school. Aside from get a new teacher, has anyone got any tips on how to learn as much as I can? Or maybe some reccomendations for CD+book learning sets or whatever.

Any help is much appreciated.

P.S. I'm basically a complete beginner. I know some very vague things about music but that's all really.

2. BASSDROID

BASSDROID Guest

Aug 22, 2007
    If you are not already doing this, I'd suggest that you spend as much time as possible playing by ear along with recordings. Training your ear in this way will help you develop the ability to hear and recognize the concepts you are studying.

Find a new teacher; one that has a strong and practical understanding of how to apply music theory. Ask the music dept. at your local university if there are any grad students or music theory majors who may be willing to teach (they don't necessarily need to be bass players).

3. ual

ual

Aug 12, 2010
    Perth