Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

beginner here - what bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dadsdefects, Jul 30, 2003.

1. dadsdefects

dadsdefects

Jul 30, 2003
    ive got about 250 bucks and i wanna play bass ill buy new or used and i was wondering what are some good basses in my price range for beginners

2. Blueszilla

Blueszilla Bassist ordinaire

Apr 2, 2003
    The Duke City
    Though I've never actually owned one, I've heard some good comments about the Fender Squier series of guitars. I believe they are Japanese made, good quality and sound for the money. Some of the others who have owned them will come along at some point and tell us about them, I hope.

I did a search in the Basses forum for 'Basses under $300' and came up with this.

Seems as if there has been a lot discussed where basses under $300 come up.

3. dadsdefects

dadsdefects

Jul 30, 2003
    hey thanks a lot ill be checking that out.... ne body else got nemore help

4. SkaKing27

SkaKing27

Sep 1, 2002
    St.Louis MO
    yes..I have a Squier..they are alright,if you find a good one..the quality of them vairy(like most basses)...try buying a good used bass,or an Essex...they are talked about very much on here.my friend just bought one,it is super sweet..you can get them at www.rondomusic.com I would probably go with that..then buy an amp later...but if you do diecede to go the Squier route,go for the "Standered" series squier,they are better than the "affinity" series..good luck finding a bass that fits you.

5. CKYBassist

CKYBassist

Nov 28, 2002
    My vote goes to Essex. I bought an Essex Jazz for about 130$ and i was amazed at the sound of it. Worth much more than 130$ IMO. Check out the Essex megathread.

6. 2099

Jul 4, 2003
    If you decide to get a Squier, I'm selling mine for fairly cheap. I sent you a PM.