Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

beginner - investing in a low-mid end bass or buying a cheap one?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Foo-O-Matic, Aug 10, 2004.

1. Foo-O-Matic

Foo-O-Matic

Aug 10, 2004
    Israel
    hi, first im new here and a friend of mine told me about this great place! :)

ok so i want to start learning bass, and im probably buying the peavey microbass as my practice amp, and i have $300 more for a bass. i was thinkin 'bout 2 options (these are the only options i have coz i dont live in the states) here they are:
    1) using all of the money and buying a Yamaha BB404 or an Ibanez SR300DX
    2) not using all the money and starting with a cheap bass, saving it for my next bass, and buying a Yamaha RBX170 or an Ibanez GSR200

i dont know whatta do, someone told me that i shouldnt buy a bass like the Yamaha BB404 or the Ibanez SR300DX and as a beginner i don't need a bass like that, and i better save the money, and someone else told me that i shouldnt buy something crappy like the low Yamaha or the low Ibanez, and that i better use all the money i have.

heh im confused :rolleyes:
    please help me dear TalkBass members!
    and sorry for the long post... ;)

2. Rvl

Rvl

Dec 23, 2003
    Aomori Japan
    -buy a used bass
    -buy a Jazz type(can get alot of different sounds and easy to change pickups)
    -better to buy 2 good basses than one very expensive bass (as you make more money get better basses)
    -dont sell your old basses (which means dont buy crappy basses)

Thanks

Robert VanLane

3. Bezo

Bezo

Aug 10, 2004
    My suggestion would be to get the best bass you can afford. 2 things can happen:

You'll love playing and would have a decent bass until you were ready to step up to the next level, or...

You'll lose interest and try to sell the bass. The better the bass, the more it value it retains.