1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner practice routine suggestions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by KoalaOnBass, Feb 18, 2016.

1. KoalaOnBass

KoalaOnBass

Feb 18, 2016
    Hello everyone! After dabbling in guitar for a few years, I picked up my first bass about 2 months ago. I know having a good practice routine is essential for getting decent at any instrument, but I've been having problems trying to figure out what exactly I should be focusing on at this stage and which exercises I should be doing (I'm self-taught).

I would like to develop an all-round good foundation for playing bass (technique, groove, aural skills, playing actual songs...). I know there are lots of lessons on this online, but most of them are not very well organized and are often aimed at more intermediate players.

So if you guys have any suggestions for what a beginner should be practicing daily, I would greatly appreciate your help :)

2. Fudders

Fudders

Feb 18, 2016
  3. lfmn16

lfmn16 SUSPENDED Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2011
    charles town, wv
    The fastest way to get good is to get a good teacher who can identify and help you work on your weaknesses and give you good feedback.

4. lstelie

lstelie

Nov 27, 2008
    Paris France

Point of view of a « I was beginner not so long ago » guy…. And of course it's my point of view someone can say the opposite without being wrong...

1) If you're self taught buy Ed Friedland Bass method. To begin it's an invaluable resource, and it's the best investment you can do to start alone.

2) whatever routine you choose it must emphasis a perfect knowledge of your fretboard.
    It's useless to start sophisticated exercises if you don't know perfectly your fretboard.