Beginner question Active-passive Pickups

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ProDigit, Apr 12, 2005.

1. ProDigit

Apr 12, 2005
    Miami USA
    I'm going to buy my first bass soon, and I may have some dumb question. But then again, I'm a beginner, and am allowed to ask them ^_^

In specific I'm talking about Ibanez's SR series, but I'm really open to hear how basses from other manifacturers respond to these questions:

1- When using active picups, and the battery dies within a concert, can you continue to play?(does it switch over to passive?); and when it does, except for loss of volume, is there any sound quality difference?

2- I've seen bassguitars, with a simple clicking system, to remove the battery, while others you need a screwdriver to remove a plate in the back to remove the battery. Do you think you could switch-off the battery on most bassguitars, when not in use (in specific about the SR505, but also about other basses.)

3- A curved body, interesting for thin, or very slender people?

4- Neckthru; worth the extra 150 ..and so.. dollars?
  2. Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    1. Depends on the bass. Some basses use active pickups in addition to an active EQ. If you have active pickups and your battery goes, your SOL. Many basses have an active/passive switch. Battery dying, and changing to passive will remove your EQ controls. You may still have a tone knob, which is usually a treble roll-off, but you'll no longer be able to boost EQ settings. So the sound can change.

2. Most basses, the battery is engaged when the bass in plugged in. When you remove the 1/4" plug from the bass, the battery turns off.

3. Curved bodies are just more comfortable for most people, doesnt have a lot to do with the size or stature of the person involved.