Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beginner started with fretless,Am i right?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by NooB_Me, Feb 26, 2005.

1. NooB_Me

NooB_Me

Feb 24, 2005
    Philadelphia
    hi,i'm a very2 beginner to bass,but have played a little bit of guitar... and i really like the looks of fretless and try to learn it for my very first lesson... any pros/cons?

2. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    Why not? Most people will tell you to start on a Fretted, or if you wanna play a 6 to start on a 4 and work your way up... Blah blah blah... So STORY TIME:

One of my friend's aquired a (At the time) VERY nice bass, an Ibanez BTB1006 (Or whatever their High end 6 stringer is) And I decided to play it (Me playing bass wasent even a dirty thought back then) And my friend was VERY impressed with my playing, Not the actual music coming out of me, but my technique... He said I was muting the strings perfectly, Not clipping the B and C strings, and just playing with a wonderful technique... Now I have gotten hooked on bass by around that time (2+ years ago) So I had no money, first bass, a rogue 4 stringer, total crap. But I loved it.

I started playing and I was fine, chuggin along to songs learning to slap, got into better musicians... Everything was coming together. Then I get some money and decide to splurge on a Nice 5 string (55-94) And as soon as I got it MAJOR clipping of the B string and smackin it for NO reason, it was just "In the way" and I didnt think much of it, Eventually I got accustomed to it and again started playing Much better.

Time passes, so I buy my first 6 string (I've always wanted a 6) so what happens? MAJOR muting problems, Smacking the C string all the time for no reason (Running into it) and bad technnique again... So eventually I get used to it and all is well...