Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beginner started with fretless,Am i right?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NooB_Me, Feb 26, 2005.

1. NooB_Me

NooB_Me

Feb 24, 2005
    Philadelphia
    Hi, i am a very2 beginner in bass,but play a lil' bit of guitar. i wanna learn playing it and actually love how the fretless bass look... so i plan to buy a fender jazz fretless this month... any pros/cons? thanks guys

2. Pros: no fret wear, the sound(if you like it)
    Cons: intonation is on you
    From a semi-total beginner perspective, it may not be that hard. Another possible pro: It's probably easier to go from fretless to fretted.

3. Hey, if kids can learn to play upright bass in junior high orchestra class, I don't think it's impossible to start bass on fretless :)

As long as you have the desire. I learned fretless in a couple months (after nearly a decade on fretted).

4. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    It take good hand position and GREAT ears..did you say you wanted to go fretless for the looks? Now that's dedication!! Playing fretless is alot like a trombone solo, when it's good it's great, when it isn't it's terrible!!

5. NooB_Me

NooB_Me

Feb 24, 2005
    Philadelphia
    Yeah,i really love how it looks without a fret,and i heard that fretless is better for playing tone and melodies... so i pick it..
    am i right?

6. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Well, looks aren't everything. You may not enjoy the fretless experience. I remember when I played guitar for a short period of time, then picked up a bass, it was a totally different instrument.

7. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I'm not so sure about that trombone solo...

8. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.