1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Beginner

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DSims63, Aug 22, 2012.

1. I just started playing the bass a little over a year ago, and it is something I intend to do thru retirement (soon I hope). I would like to start off by saying how much help this forum has been for a beginner, I dont know if you posters realize just how much and how valuable your advice is, a sincere thanks. Now my question or concern.

I realize that up to this point I can play a few songs (a little over 20) but thats it. I feel like I can play SONGS not play the BASS. I am starting to delve more into music theory. Do any of you guys have any suggestions about where I should look to become more of a bass player? I am an avid reader and my music book library is growing, over 40 books now, so any books you think might be helpful please let me know.

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    The normal stock answer (and the right one IMO) to your question here on TB is to get a teacher. In the absence of that, some books I'd recommend are :

Bass Guitar for Dummies : (ignore the "D" word. It is a good all round book for beginners).

Bass Method Book by Ed Friedland :

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hal-Leonard...796?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19d464f234

There are three volumes. You can get all three in one spiral bound edition, at a reasonable price.

Another book I found very good is "Progressive Jazz for Bass". Even if you dont like jazz, it is still packed with useful information that can be used in any type of music.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Progressive...934?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3ca6e6bf8e

All books come with their own CD's.

Happy practicing !! :bassist: