1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner's bow in the UK?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by TSP, Jan 7, 2007.

1. I'm a mainly-jazz beginner bassist in the UK, looking for a first bow (French) for exercises and occasional arco. In the US, I'd unhesitatingly go for the Upton bow; is there a low-cost bow available in the UK that's similarly well-thought of, or should I start looking at shipping from the US?

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I got one of those mail order via the Upton website - no problems - although I did get about £12 added on by customs! :)

Very well packed!

3. vitoliuzzi

vitoliuzzi

Dec 7, 2003
    South Italy
    I've to say that all my students use a very wonderful carbon fiber bow not only for beginners but also until to the 5th year of study in an Italian Conservatory of Music where you have the first important exam (the last one is at the 7th year, then you can choose to study for other two years in case of specialization). Well, this carbon fiber bow calls CARBONDIX and in Italy it costs Euro 232,00. But It really sound like a medium pernambuco bow. Well balanced, good response. It has made in China ... today everything is manufactured there;). Normally, I suggest my students to change as soon as possibile their with hairs, too thin. But for six months, at least, you can use them. I take directly from Cremona the new hairs much larger, and in comparison to its price, it's the best "beginners" bow I have found on the market. ALso because, if you should decide, you can also sell it but being sure to give a very good bow ... sorry, carbon fiber bow.