Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beginners guitar

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spidoman, Mar 24, 2002.

1. spidoman

spidoman

Mar 24, 2002
    I'm just starting out playing the bass and I'm looking for a good beginners bass. What brand should I get? Links would be nice

2. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    If you want a low-priced bass, try Cort New Action Bass, or Steinberg Spirit (www.musicyo.com)

All the best,

3. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    Lower-end Yamaha and Fender basses are safe bets. They play and sound great for the price. Might cost a tad more than the Cort or Steinbergers Jaylanb suggested, but they're worth it.

4. JayAmel

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    Oysterman : here is my very personal opinion.

I had purchased a Fender-Squier Affinity P-Bass for my students. Even they hated it. It was almost impossible to setup in a decent way. The only time I played on a MIM Precision Bass, did not impress me at all : no depth in sound, no soul...

I never played a low-end Yamaha, so I can't tell.

All the best,

5. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    You're talking about a Squier, Jean. ;)

And a MIM P can have just as much soul as you put into it, if you know the bass and equip it with good-sounding strings. After that, "it's all in the hands". ;)

6. JayAmel

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    Let's say MIM Fenders don't fit my hands :D

However, I find they're very expensive regarding to their quality. Some are made with crate-like wood.

All the best,