Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beginner's Question on fingering hand

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by goodguy782, Sep 1, 2004.

1. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california
    I have been playing bass for about 6 months and have recently started practicing from that 'Bass Fitness' book. When I am just playing songs I feel little to no pain in my hand but when I start practicing from the book about 30 min in my fingering hand starts burning really bad. So my question is this: is it normal to experience muscle pain when you first start off playing or am I doing something wrong? If anyone has had a similar experience starting out and can tell me if this is normal or not I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

play more relaxed, dont play like you're holding for your life.

3. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california
    I tried to play as relaxed as I can but then I don't have enough pressure on the strings and I get a nasty vibration. Are my hands just weak? And if so how long can I expect to spend jsut getting my hands in shape to play?

4. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    This is one of those things where you can't really tell what's wrong until you see it with your own eyes. I could advise you face to face, over the internet I can only throw wild guesses. I suggest you try to find someone who you know can play, and ask him/her.

It will take some time to build up hand strength and endurance. How long is individual. But I couldn't say if what you're experiencing are pains coming from being "unfit" as a player, or if they come from trauma which can cause injury. If the case is the latter, you need to change your technique immediately! You should see someone about this. Really.