1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Beginner's questions to changing strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Brobidus, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Brobidus

Brobidus

Apr 30, 2010
    Alright so.. I'm an absolute beginner and I've been searching the net for some answers to changing strings but sadly I haven't been able to find a thing.
    I bought a rather cheap P-bass to learn to play the bass and I think it's time to change the strings. Only problem is I don't know the dimensions for my strings and the company that made my guitar doesn't make strings.
    My question is: Does it matter what dimensions the strings have, so can i just buy any strings there are out there and use them with my bass, or is it all limited somehow?

Thanks in advance,
    Eddy

2. pica

pica Supporting Member

Nov 26, 2009
    Michigan
    I think string size is a matter of personal preference. I'm pretty sure you can use any size strings on a bass as long as they match. As long as you use the strings from the same pack and don't mix and match you should be okay. I'm not 100% sure. I'm sure other people will give you better advice.

3. MrWalker

MrWalker

Apr 3, 2002
    Norway
    String gauge is a personal preference,as is the brand. The most common gauges are .040 - .100 or .045 - .105. the most common type of strings is the round wound one. any music store will have such sets in stock. Usually you will change the strings when they sound dull and dead.

You might want to bring the entire bass to the store, maybe they will help and show you how to change them best, and gone your bass a good setup at the same time.

4. Brobidus

Brobidus

Apr 30, 2010
    Alright so for example:
    If my Guitar is a Rocktile Bass.. The G-String about 1mm, the E-String around 2 (or so i measured), would it be ok if I bought Fender Strings 0.45mm - 1.05?
    Or does that not work? :meh: