beginning 5-string /need help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by evlmaynard13, Nov 8, 2002.

1. evlmaynard13

Nov 5, 2002
    i just picked up a 5-string for the 1st time..former drummer in need of help.tired of sitting down,wanted something new; thought bass would be cool as hell, it its..where to begin?
  2. deadweeds

Oct 28, 2002
    Harbor Beach,MI
    Well I'm a beginner myself....but a good idea would be to hang around this place to learn tips etc. for a might want to check out the FAQ portion of this site to learn all the parts of the bass...passive/active etc....and maybe getting some lessons from a teacher might help as well....they'll get you on the right track.....I myself would recommend maybe getting some books on reading music.....scales..theories...etc.....a local library might have books on least mine does...or you could just go out and buy them

Just play everyday and eventually things will fall in place

Hope that helped...:)
  3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Congratulations on your entry into the land of low frequencies. Second, congratulations on discovering a web site that surely be one of your biggest allies in your quest to become a bass player.

Where to start? I am big on fretboard familiarization...knowing the name and sound of each note at each fret on each string. Some frets have two note names, such as F sharp/G flat.

You will also have to learn how to tune your bass. The easiest way until you develop an "ear" is to buy a cheap tuner. Make sure you get one for bass guitar or a chromatic tuner that can read every note. Tuners only for guitar may not be able to "read" the low B string on your bass.

I like chromatic tuners because they can be useful even if you "tune down" your bass to E flat or lower.