Beginning Player

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by SpecialEd, Oct 13, 2002.

1. What can I do to help my reach and dextarity with my ring and pinky fingers? Besides practice are there any exercises that I can do or am I just stuck with practice, preacitce, practice?
  2. Chriss62

Jul 24, 2000
    Austin, Texas
    I dont know a thing about any specific exercises to improve dexterity, but as for the practice thing, it's true. Ive been playing for about 2 years and i've been told by other bass players that i've progressed very nicely and quite quickly too.

So practice every day. ALL THE TIME!!:D

or else.......:eek:
  3. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    I'd just practice. Practice is a lot more fun than doing hand exercises.
  4. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
  5. stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    First, welcome to the wonderful world of bass! :)

Practice, practice, practice of course! :D As for exercises, there have been a few mentioned in the Technique forum you might want to do a search.

One exercise that I like is from an article in the August 2000 issue of Bass Player. It's called "Bass Isometrics" and its goals are for finger independence and to improve finger strength. This is a good exercise to warm-up!

Here are the examples given from that article:

On the D string: "Alternate your 1st and 2nd fingers on the D string [notes CBCBCBCB...], and hold down the 3rd and 4th on the G [string]"

"Alternate 1st and 3rd on the D [notes C# and B], hold down 2nd and 4th on the G"

"Alternate 1st and 4th [notes D and B], hold down 2nd and 3rd"

"Alternate 2nd and 3rd [notes Db and C], hold down 1st and 4th"

"Alternate 2nd and 4th [notes D and C], hold down 1st and 3rd"

"Alternate 3rd and 4th [notes D and C#], hold down 1st and 2nd"

The article says it's good to practice this exercise at least 5 minutes a day.

Hope this helps :)
  6. practice.