1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Being a broke teenager in small town albera sucks.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by DRN-PWNS, Oct 23, 2009.

1. DRN-PWNS

DRN-PWNS

Sep 13, 2008
    Cochrane alberta
    Well i've been putting off new strings for close to 6 months, and last night broke my D and G string. so i went to *cough cough* phantoms music *cough couch* the only music store in town an decided to get my self some strings, i usually play elixirs but due to my general brokeness i decided that id get some Slinky's instead. Well a the music shop i realized something, $59.99 for regular slinky's, usually at this point i would have jumped in he man van and drove to L & M, where i can get the same stings for $29.99. But the man van was low on gas If i were to have filed it my trip would STILL have cost me less but i was in a hurry and needed o get going.

My question is Why he flying hell can a small shop charge so much?

Beer yet, how much would it cost o open a bass shop next door I'm really sick of this.

:rollno::rollno:

2. ProfGumby

ProfGumby

Jan 15, 2007
    Michigan's U.P.
    I know it is tough when you break a string and do not have spares. Or a backup bass.

But guess what? The internet is your friend. Lot's of places online that will be much cheaper than that local shop, even with shipping.

My advice? Since you may be going through a pack or two a year. In a few months, buy a set, affordably, before you have a problem again. then, when you do change your strings, buy another pack to replace the one you took.

An once of prevention goes along way in your wallet! Broke ass teen or not. A monkey could save 30 bucks in a few weeks...

3. DRN-PWNS

DRN-PWNS

Sep 13, 2008
    Cochrane alberta