Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Being a

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by mijarra, Jan 20, 2001.

1. mijarra

mijarra

Jan 20, 2001
    Hello, I am new to this forum and I am hoping it will help me in my quest. I guess I have been playing bass for about 4 years, but I have been playing guitar for 17 years. I have been in a few bands as a bassist and I guess I am decent, or so people tell me anyway. I never really read anything about playing bass when I first started. I already knew a lot of music theory from playing guitar, so I just picked up the bass and went with it. I recently decided to somewhat re-commit myself and I started doing some online research. After this, I pretty much found out that I know absolutely NOTHING about being a "real" bassist. I have basically been playing the bass like a guitar. I guess what I mean is, after 17 years as a lead guitarist it's relatively easy to me to be a satisfactory bassist, but to be a really good bassist is another matter entirely. So now I have this whole new world in front of me and I don't know where to start. I don't know what to learn first or what is most important. Anyway, has anyone else made this guitar-bass transition and/or does anyone have any advice? Any experienced bassists have suggestions as to what they would do in my situation? Also, I have been reading about guys like Stu Hamm and Jaco Pastorius but I have never heard them. Can anyone suggest a few CDs that are worth exploring? I'm sure I will have a lot more dumb questions to follow. :)

2. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon