Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Being able to goove.?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Samelot, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Samelot

Samelot

Jun 23, 2005
    hi, ive been playing a bass for like 4 or 5 years now. I learn songs, learn theroy, and try to keep up as many exersises as possible. BUt there is no way i can groove, or jam like jaco or some real hot bass players can. Sometimes i can think of some cool stuff, but other times i feel completley empty, and i find my self just trying to play notes in a scale as fast as i can, (its nothing hard either, its not very challanging) and when im done taht i just feel discusted and very dissatisfied with my bass skills. Anyone else have this probelm? is this Normal? any Suggestions?

2. dirtgroove

dirtgroove

Jan 10, 2003
    Taipei, Taiwan
    Don't worry. I don't think you're alone in not being able to groove like Jaco. A good approach might be not to compare yourself with other gods out there. Also - It's easy to place too much emphasis on scales as opposed to rythm.
    Others might not agree with me- but this is my approach
    I limit myself to no more than 5 notes- whack on the metrenome and just play along concentrating on the feel and groove of your playing. Don't stray from the notes you originaly chose however tempted but try to keep going for 10 minutes and keep it interesting for yourself start really really simple. I mean really really really simple. 1 note to a bar, add in another and another etc... bring in half, quarter, eigth notes etc. throw in some triplets if your'e feeling fruity... you get the idea. I'm sure there are probably some great groove instruction books/videos out there that other people might recomend. I just find this is a good excercise for me to do every now and again

3. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000