Being left-handed playing right handed Bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DJ88, Dec 15, 2005.

1. DJ88

Dec 9, 2005
    NC US
    I have been playing for about 2 months now. I am left handed really, but after looking around and discovering I would have little selection of a bass unless ordered and still not so much. So I bought my first bass and it was a right hander. I was so eager to play, I rushed to it and bought a right hander. I tried playing it upside down to see how it would be, gave up because it made me feel (and look) stupid. I have played all but about...a week I will say...right handed. I tried since then to flip it to evaluate hand strength or anything like that, and it doesn't fit.
    So my question for anyone who knows is: am I shorting myself by continuing to play right handed? Even when I am starting to gain speed and it feels and has felt natural for some time? I am unsure to any effects of it.
    Thanks for any advice!!
  2. stay riight handed.

Me, being a left hander, has had potential bass after potential bass option completely shot down because "we dont make left handers"

oh who cares if we make the COOLEST LOOKING MODEL OUT THERE, IF YOU'RE LEFT HANDED YOU CAN GO TO HELL!! :spit: :spit: :spit: :spit: :spit: :spit:
    El Pelusa likes this.
  3. DJ88

Dec 9, 2005
    NC US
    :bag: thanks for the response.
  4. dhadleyray

dhadleyray Guest

Dec 7, 2004
    I played a right handed bass for about 3 years, then I took lessons right handed. The reason was the teacher said he couldn't teach me that way. I have now been playing right handed for almost 30 years. Stay righty...

Pattitucci is also a lefty if I remember correctly. :)
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups