Being Pushed Out - What to Do

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by oldrocker, Mar 13, 2006.

1. oldrocker

Feb 13, 2005
    Long Island, NY
    Sorry for the rant, but I need to share this:

I started playing with a group of guys about 6 months ago. They had an add on Craigslist, I answerred, and auditioned and have been playing with them ever since. I'm no great bass player, but I can handle most of the classic rock covers they want to play, and they have told me how happy they are that I am playing with them

They apparently have a history of going through guitar players becaue the group leader is a strict rhythm only guitar guy, who seem to have trouble remembering chord changes. So lead guitar guy gets frustrated and leaves or confronts the rhythm guy to improve and is forced out.

So, in November, I witness one guitar player being ousted and new one coming in. The new guitar player is pretty sloppy himself so he has no problems with the rhythm guy missing his marks.

We're not playing out so I'm still having fun.

Fast forward to last week, the new guitar guy, who apparenty was in a working band once, is pushing us to play out, the 1st step is to play an open mic night in a local bar. My concern is that we only have 2 songs, about 6 minutes worth of music, an we're not always tight even on these 2 songs, the rhythm guiar player almost always misses the endings.

I expressed my feeling that we should be better prepared before we play out, but I was not heard. Push comes to shove, I refuse to play the open mic thing. That plus me missing the next practice, for my sons 16th BDay, has the band leader pissed at me. I did give notice tha I would miss practice, and have never missed a practice without giving ample notice.

I happen to be up on Crailist this weekend, and see a new add for a bass player for this band. The add stresses the need for commitment.