1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Benefits of Fretless?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Megalomania, Mar 1, 2008.

1. I play fretted electric bass, but mainly upright jazz bass. I started playing fretless electric, but sold the body of the bass I made. Therefore, I have a warmoth fretless neck (quite nice) sitting around. I am 17 and looking to pursue a career in music, hopefully centered around sessions and jazz (I'm attending berklee's 5 week performance program this summer to further my studies).
    My dilemma is: should I sell the neck and continue playing upright and fretted electric, or buy a new body and study fretless electric also?
    Also, do you feel that the ability to play fretless bass well makes a bassist more desirable for sessions and gigs and such? Is it worth my time (given my experience on upright and electric) to study fretless electric bass?

2. though I don't make a living professionally out of bass I know a lot of people that do. All those guys always recommend that the broader the spectrum you can cover, the better it would be for you financially (you ARE trying to make a living, aren't you?). If you can play electric (fretted AND fretless) plus double on the upright, you will have an edge over 80% of the bass players out there. Practice all styles of music, too!

3. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA