bent endpin

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Jeff Bollbach, May 15, 2003.

1. Jeff Bollbach

Jeff Bollbach Jeff Bollbach Luthier, Inc.

Dec 12, 2001
    freeport, ny
    Bet that hurts.
    But seriously folks....
    Anyone have any experience wth the bent style pin? Any other brand other than the Stahlhammer? Thanks in advance.
  2. Blaine

Aug 4, 2001
    new york area
    I've been using one since 1987. My endpin is about the diameter of a dime and I made my own rod from steel tubing and later, aluminum. I think it makes a more dramatic difference if you usually have the pin out a bit. It takes a lot of pressure of my left thumb.
  3. There is the Eggpin, which has an adjustable offset. I played one for a while and thought I'd make one for myself. I ended up swearing at it; it always felt like the bass was going to fall forward.
    I play with my bass with a more upright posture than most. I rarely sit.
  4. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    I use one on my work bass (a German carved), and used to use one on my Englehart. The idea is that you shift the center of gravity down and away from the bass. It really works! On my Englehart, I never felt is was stable, but on my work bass I use an endpin that comes out of the bass at an angle (rather than having a bend in it) and I really like it.

My Christopher is light enough that I don't need it.
  5. Pacman is almost right, but not exactly. The centre of gravity is the key to how a bent endpin helps some players, but the COG doesn't really change with a different endpin, what actually changes is the support points of the bass relative to the C.O.G.

In exploring various postures and positions, I got curious about this a few years back, and studied it quite a bit. This is all easier to explain with a pencil and paper on hand, but I'll try with words only.