Berklee Scholarships

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Farin, Oct 24, 2005.

1. Farin

Oct 19, 2004
    Akron, Ohio
    Hey, I Guess this question is addressed at Marco Panascia, seeing as how I saw he was a Berklee Grad. Everyone is welcome to comment... I'd like as much feedback as possible.
    I am an upright Jazz bassist, in my first year of college. I'm currently attending The University of Akron. Its ok, but I feel like I'm missing out on just a huge world of jazz, and contemporary music in general. So, I have applied to Berklee, and I would really love to attend, but, with college tuition at 40 grand a year, it's a little steep for my budget.
    With that said, is there really as much scholarship money available as Berklee claims? I have applied for an audition on the World Scholarship Tour, and I'm hoping to impress the panel. What should I prepare? Just Jazz, Jazz, and Classical, Tunes out of the real book, ect?
    Also, should I expect to do a ton of sight-reading on the audition? Like most jazz musicians, my sight reading skills are ok, but need work?
    So in a nutshell... what the hell should I do? What should I prepare, and what should I plan, in order to get the most scholarship money possible?
    Thanks so much
  2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    Well I would think that if you're really good and Berklee wants you then they'll pony up some serious scholarship money. If you're not so good, then they want you to pay for the scholarships of the people they really want.

Berklee has a lot of money, a lot of facilities, etc. There is also a huuuge difference b/w the good players and the not so good players.

The only way you'll know is to try.

As far as what to play, did they give some kind of parameters? If not, then play what highlights your playing. A swing tune (standard) showing your ability to walk and solo; a ballad to show some diversity and again your ability to solo.