1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bernard Purdie Interview

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by JAUQO III-X, Apr 7, 2007.

1. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
  2. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    This is a great find. Thank you for posting it!

3. Lazylion

Lazylion Goin ahead on wit my bad self!

Jan 25, 2006
    Frederick MD USA
    He can't be serious about Ringo not playing on, like, ANY Beatle songs?!? :eek:

4. Basshole

Basshole Banned

Jan 28, 2005
    I am a professional musician (46 years old). I have heard from industry insiders LONG before it was ever published ANYWHERE that Richard Starky didn't play drums on the Beatles sessions. To industry folks, this is not news. Sorry if that disillusions anyone...but it's what I've always heard.

5. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    NET
    It always sounded like a crock to me. For some weird reason of his own, Purdie (a great drummer, to be sure) came out with this bizarre statement, one he's never been able to substantiate in the least. Paul McCartney has dismissed it as nonsense, and it's never been given credence by any Beatles scholar I'm aware of. Nor have I ever talked to a drummer familiar with the Beatles' records who would even begin to take it seriously. It's on a par with that Carol Kaye junk about her playing a lot of Jamerson's best parts.

6. Here's an interesting analysis of the Beatles claim:
    http://www.jimvallance.com/03-projects-folder/purdie-project-folder/pg-purdie.html