1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best £300 ish amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassash, Mar 23, 2006.

1. bassash

bassash

Mar 23, 2006
    Right, I'm a bassist currently in a funk band which involves slap bass and just groovin' basslines. I have a Warwick Streamer Jazzman and I've got £300 to a max of £350 to spend on a bass amp. I know the amp is worth far less than the bass but ignore that :p.
    Basically, I need an amp that isn't too big, (we have to lug it in a small car with 5 musicians and drum kit) that's preferably a combo that would be cool as a monitor at a small to medium size venue. In addition it'd be good at home use.

I came to the conclusion that the new Line 6 150W 12" Lowdown bass amp would be cool, it has some modelling with it too, such as compressor (which'd be handy for funky songs). And it's not too big and plenty of watts. But do people have better suggestions?

Many thanks for any advice!

Ash

2. john flipcycle

john flipcycle

Oct 13, 2004
    Reading UK
    Partner, The Strat Shack www.thestratshack.co.uk
    Try a Hartke kickback combo, they make them in 12" and 15" combos with 120 watt power amps. Lots of power, portable and sound especially good for slap stuff as they are voiced with lots of treble with the aluminium cones. The 15" is a bit over budget but make a shop an offer and see what they say.

Great bass BTW used to have one of those myself :)

3. 1972 Ampeg SVT with 810 cab. That will be close to 300 pounds and the tone is great, although very old school. :eyebrow: :meh: Sorry, I couldn't resist.