Best 12AX7 for cleanest sound/optimum headroom

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Cantstandsya, Aug 31, 2002.

1. Cantstandsya

Jul 27, 2001
    Fontana, CA
    The Sovtek 12AX7 in my SM400S seems to clip/distort too easily and is very muddy on the low end.Any suggestions?
  2. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    The Sovtek 12AX7WXT was a very high gain valve. The WB is lower gain and not very impressive. I like the EH (BTW they are made by Sovtek). My favourite 12AX7 (or ECC83) is the Mullard. But they are expensive and I have no experience of them in your application.

You are going to have to experiment

You might want to PM this guy
  3. jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA

unless you've heard another SM400 that sounded tighter, it could just be the tone of the pre with your cab and bass. there are sooo many other factors besides the tube, tho a tube swap could be the magic pill.

but if you're looking for a new tube, i've got some suggestions.

btw, yea, the Sov's are known for their gainy tone. and i'm not a real fan of them in any amp, guitar or bass. same with EH's tho, they can be a bit better.

IMHO, what you're looking for is a 5751. its a tougher spec'ed military version of the 12AX7. known to have high headroom, and 70% less gain. nice chimey highs, and great for slap. most 5751's are good from RCA, JAN Sylvania, JAN Philips, etc. its hard to find a bad brand due to the high military tolerances.

another good one is a JAN Philips 12AX7. my fav tube for its good overall tone, and relatively cheap price. bright high end, tough and steely sounding mids, and good tight bass response. but, get 'em while they're hot cause i heard a shortage is looming.
  4. Chuck M

Chuck M Supporting Member

May 2, 2000
    San Antonio, Texas
    I've tried various tubes in SWR preamps and have settled on 1950's RCA blackplate 12AX7's as being the best sounding IMO.