Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best 25-35 Watt Combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Julien, Aug 19, 2002.

1. Julien

Julien

Dec 29, 2001
    Paris,France
    Hi i've been practicing bass for almost two years now and my ibanez amp just broke.
    I want to get good 25- 35 watt combo to practice at home.....i want kind of a vintage sound(but a good slap sound too)..
    What should i get???

Thanx

2. Persuader

Persuader

Feb 7, 2001
    upstate,ny
    Ampeg SB12 is one of my favorite bass tones.About 25 watts,round and full tone,great for living room and even small quieter gigs;and you could always mic it of course!

3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Fender Bassman 25. Louder than any other 25 watt combo, and handles the low B string better than any I have found.

I have played churches that hold 200 people, accompanying drums, piano, organ, choir and electric guitar(no distortion) and had no problems being heard. Played a fretless 5 string, and went all the way down to C a few times, and the amp handled it well.

4. The Vox T25 is very, very, good..... imo,and verry loud for an 25 watt combo. Especialy the bassilator switch pump up the low end.
    Check it out !

5. Julien

Julien

Dec 29, 2001
    Paris,France
    i've been thinking of the bassman 25 but here in france the price is about 400 US dollars.Do you think it's worth it?

julien

6. Plucky

Plucky

Jun 18, 2002
    Underwater
    ive got the laney hcm30b and its great for the price (i bought it for less than 200euros) and the compression knob helps a lot when you need a little bit more power.

7. embellisher

That depends. What other amps are in that price range?

8. Julien

Julien

Dec 29, 2001
    Paris,France