1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best 6 string fretless <1500e? Ibanez Portamento 6?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GrumpyEye, Oct 26, 2017.

1. GrumpyEye

GrumpyEye

Oct 26, 2017
    Hey guys! It's my first post here, so if I've posted on the wrong forum, I apologize. :(

First of, I'm an music producer, so I play almost everything except the drums. :) Im not a great live bass player, but I can play some good bass lines in the studio.

Now, I wanted to get an Ibanez Portamento 6 string (srf706 I think). But since there are no good demos online, and I cant try any of the guitars (Im from Serbia) I need to ask you a few questions.

I have a marcus miller v7 fretless, and Im pretty good with it, but I dont really like the sound. It lacks midrange clarity, and there's no "mwah" or bloom whatsoever. My intonation was surprisingly good right off the bat.
    I do have an ibanez btb 6 string (which is pretty much my main guitar now, and I have a MM stingray, but I dislike the sound), and I've played a few 6 string Foderas (and copies). So, can handle a fretted 6 string, but I'm unsure if I will be able to manage a 6 string fretless. As I've said, theres no way to test it out, I can only order it from an online shop and hope for the best. My hands are pretty big, but Im scared of unwanted harmonics and rumble.

Now, my questions are:
    Will the portamento give me the bloom or the "mwah" that I need? Does it have a defined midrange?
    Should I go for a 6 string or just keep it simple with a 5 string?

Also:
    Which fretless would you suggest up to 1500 euros?

Thanks guys!

Greets from Serbia!