Best advice

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Sumguy7787, Jan 22, 2006.

1. Sumguy7787

Jan 12, 2006
    Just out of curiousity, what is the best advice you have ever been given that has made you a better bass player and from who.
  2. Less can be more--from a "regular" fiddle player.
  3. bolo

May 29, 2005
    Apex, NC
    Man, that is a huge question that triggered a flood of responses. I've been playing music since I was 6 years old (albeit with a few gaps). I am basically a jazz player nowadays. Given that background, here are a few thoughts, FWIW:

(1) Feel is everything.
    (2) It's all about time. [ This came from a drummer, of course! ]
    (3) The space in between the notes is just as important as the notes themselves.
    (4) The release on each note is just as important as the attack.
    (5) Buy a metronome and practice with it.
    (6) Relax.
    (7) Listen consciously and intently to everyone in the band, not just yourself.
    (8) If you really want to dig in to chords and theory, get familiar with the keyboard on a piano.
    (9) If you're thinkin', you're stinkin'.

I'll stop there ... for now. Sensory overload.
  4. Best advice I've ever gotten? Probably, "Sing what you play, play what you sing." -A guest conductor I once had the privilage to work under.

Most memorable advice ever? "Practice it slow." -Edgar Meyer. He did a master class at the Las Vegas Bass Workshop last October. He played the first three notes of the Prelude to the second cello suite. He played it so slow, probably quarter note=40 or so, then said, "And that's a bit on the fast side."
  5. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    "Sightreading is playing by ear through your eyes".
  6. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    I'm not much for advice -- examples have meant more.