best bang for buck for $100

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TooL_051685, Jan 19, 2005.

1. TooL_051685

Jan 19, 2005
    i'm new to playing bass and i currently have an esp f-104
    i was wondering whats the best bang for buck combo for $100
    i've looked at a couple used fenders but i was wondering if i buy something new for $100 what would be the best.

customers from musiciansfriend have written these great reviews for drive combos, claiming that they are great for the price. I've never heard one of these amps before. I know that drive makes a 30 watt for $100, but it seems rather sketchy.

later on down the road when i have some more money saved up i'll be looking at the GK's, ampeg, and perhaps MESA's,
    but for now i need a quality practice amp. i don't need any special features, just the basic EQ and gain. i just want something i can turn up 1/2 way without getting lots of unwanted distortion
  2. Matt Call

Matt Call Supporting Member

Aug 1, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    In my opinion, start by thinking how far down the road you'd be looking at GK, ampeg, or mesa. If it's not too far away, I'd just pick up a cheapie off of ebay. I've seen some amps go for less than $20, but they're nothing great. Also, are you in a band? How much power are you looking for? Just a prewarning: if you buy a $100, you will most likely not get much for it if you decide to sell down the road. I'd almost recommend saving up for a little while.

Another thing, buying used is a good thing (98.5% of the time). Don't exclude something because it's used. You'll find you lose less money buying used as well.

I don't know if that helps at all, but I thought I'd post it anyway and see.
  3. TooL_051685

Jan 19, 2005
    well it'd probly be around a year from now before i start looking at those, because all my money right now is being saved to get a more reliable car. but i need some sort of amplification for now