Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Bass AMP for under $500?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by wannabe_bassist, Jan 26, 2002.

1. wannabe_bassist

wannabe_bassist Guest

Jan 25, 2002
    Florida
    I am just starting out on the Bass and picked up a new Yamaha RBX-270 after doing some research and "liking" the feel of the instrument. Looking to play metal, rock and perhaps some jazz.

My question right now is what is a good bass amp for under $500?

I am strictly a beginner but have some knowledge of the bass. Who knows, maybe I will actually get decent at it!

Before I get into any playing questions, I would like to get the equipment in place first.

I have looked at the following:

SWR LA series
    Fender Bassman series
    Crate (I really don't like their stuff)
    Hartke Kickback series
    Aquilar

I would love to hear all of your thoughts on these (and any others I might have missed) and perhaps you could guide me in the right direction.

My coworkers are all guitarists and not much help.

So, if you had a $500 Xmas gift and needed a bass, what would be your choice and why.

Thanks in advance!

2. nikofthehill

nikofthehill

Jul 30, 2001
    san jose, CA
    check out the B-100 R by Ampeg. Its a beautiful amp, w/ great tone, and damn loud for a 100 watts. I think you should look into this one too. $479 at http://www.musiciansfriend.com

from your list, i'd go with the Fender Bassman, but thats just my opinion.

the decision is up to you which amp you choose. i suggest you go to a music store and play through everything you possibly can in your price range.

-nik

(forget everything i said except for B100R = good amp

3. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    PDX
    Also check out the Ashdown Electric Blue combos.

4. wannabe_bassist

wannabe_bassist Guest

Jan 25, 2002
    Florida
    GuitarCenter in my area has: