Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Bass For Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zoroaster03, Mar 22, 2003.

1. I'm an aspiring jazz bassist whose looking for the best type of bass to play for jazz gigs while learn the upright. I've got my eye on the Fender Jazz Standard, five strings and no frets (brown sunburst & white pickguard, too), but I was wondering whether there are other brands of "jazz" basses I could start looking at. My music teacher plays drums in a jazz quintet and reckons the bass guitar has no place in a jazz band, but I've seen them before and they sound the same to me.

Any suggestions?

:bassist: Nathaniel.

2. get a new teacher.

3. rockbassist1087

rockbassist1087 Guest

Nov 29, 2002
    Long Island, NY
    It depends on your price range. Personally for jazz, Id get a Fender MIA fretless, but that will run you like $900-$1000. I think your choice seems to be pretty dead on. Awesome jazz tone with that bass.

4. rockbassist1087

rockbassist1087 Guest

Nov 29, 2002
    Long Island, NY
    Oh yea by the way...IMO, a bass is a necessity in a jazz group.

5. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    nuff said

6. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    You coudl look for a used japanese fender for about $400 or about that..tons of folks will tell you there diference between teh MIJ and MIA is not that big..the MIJ's really are good basses.

7. jasonbraatz

jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    BEST for jazz?

[​IMG]

8. narud

narud Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2001
    santa maria,california
    nothing wrong with the teachers opinion. i dont like the sound of bass guitar in a traditional jazz setting either. too bad that's all i play.:bawl: when not muting and playing at fast tempos, notes tend to bleed. even when muting, the sound has more of a click then a thud.