1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best bass for low end results in indie rock band

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Stoney1234, Feb 1, 2018.

1. Stoney1234

Stoney1234

Aug 18, 2017
    Hi guys I have been playing for 25 years now and I was always used to ROCK/PUNK and METAL. I have a ltd b-304 and a Musicman Sterling Ray 34. Both are really high and mid oriented so that fits perfectly for the style.

However I have joined another project which is Indie Rock and that doesn't need too much of a slappy high or mid sound but mostly a lot of low end and a bit of mids.

In this band I play through a Fender Bassman 200w combo.

I am thinking Fender but really don't know there is too much choice: jazz, jaguar, p bass...etc.
    I was also looking maybe for G&L Asat which I love but out of my budget. I am looking for 1000-1500 $ CAN which is like 800-1200$US.

Here is a link to listen to what this project does. in the video this is the old bass player with a different rig than mine.

Let me know!! would be great! :)

Cheers

selowitch and brianmharrison like this.
  2. inanimate_carb

inanimate_carb

Aug 11, 2016
    You could make the gear you have now work very well for any style of Rock, but I’m sure this is not what you want to hear. :D

Prediction : this thread will be a musical style label fest. Can’t you just call it Rock? Or are the labels needed to know who you don’t want in your band? :)

Last edited: Feb 2, 2018
    pcake, smogg, alesreaper9 and 3 others like this.
  3. Belabor

Belabor

Oct 23, 2013
    I'm in an indie rock band as well, but we sound a whole lot different than you guys! I guess we have more influences from British indie rock as opposed to American indie.